In order to meet the minimum requirements that must be met to legally operate a boat in Kentucky, boaters must also meet specific certification and licensing needs. Having your boat properly registered with the right licenses and certifications required to operate it can help ensure that you can continue to enjoy the waters around Louisville.
If you suffer injuries in a boating accident, a Louisville personal injury lawyer can help you learn more about your rights, including how to pursue compensation. In this article, we’ll look at Kentucky boating license and certification requirements so you can make sure you’re in compliance.
Kentucky lays out several clear regulations that its boaters must follow in order to ensure their own safety and the safety of others.
In Kentucky, boaters between 12 and 17 years of age wishing to operate a water vessel alone (without an adult present) will need to complete a boater safety education course and then, obtain a boating license. Furthermore, Kentucky requires registration of boats used primarily in the state. If you have a boat registered in another state, you can use it for up to 60 consecutive days in Kentucky before updating the registration.
In Kentucky, you should not operate a boat with 10 horsepower or more unsupervised until at least age 12. Boaters between 12 and 17 years old must take a safety course and provide evidence of a Kentucky Safe Boating Certificate Card or a NASBLA-approved boater education course.
The Kentucky boating license requirement is primarily for minors who intend to operate a boat without an adult present. Kentucky has specific registration requirements for:
- Class A Vessels (less than 16 feet in length).
- Class 1 Vessels (16 to less than 25 feet in length).
- Class 2 Vessels (26 to less than 40 feet long).
- Class 3 Vessels (over 40 feet long).
- Inboard boats.
- Boats propelled by an electric, or trolling, motor.
Boaters who do not properly register their boats may face fines and fees.
To register your boat, go to your county clerk’s office. You will need to register your boat either in the county where you live or in the county where you will use the boat most often.
It is also worth noting that all boat registrations issued in the state of Kentucky expire on the 30th of April.
In order to legally operate a boat in Kentucky, minors between the ages of 12 and 17 will need to go through a boating safety course and receive a certification. That course can be taken either online or in person. Teens will take the course, complete a short test, and show that they understand the necessary safety requirements for operating a boat.
Once you receive your safety course certification, you will not have to renew it. Of course, parents may want their children to take boat safety courses each year to remind them of essential safety information.
For minors, obtaining a boating safety course certification is mandatory. However, adults may also want to obtain a boating safety course certification or take other courses designed to help them improve their boat safety knowledge. The safety course can:
- Improve boating skills and knowledge.
- Ensure legal compliance and knowledge of all requirements, including boating registration.
- Keep boaters safer out on the water.
- Provide some discounts and privileges.
Boating Safety FAQ
If you are over the age of 18, you do not have to obtain a boating license in Kentucky.
A Kentucky boating license is a lifetime investment. You will not have to renew your safety certifications in the future.
Minors can use an out-of-state safety certification and license as long as the course meets NASBLA education standards.
Kentucky does not require a boating license for operators over the age of 18. However, boaters 17 and under may face fines and penalties for operating a watercraft without a license.
Keeping your safety certifications up to date can make a huge difference in overall safety while out on the waters of Kentucky. Do not ignore these essential licensing requirements as they help protect you and others who share the waters with you.
After a boating accident, you’ll need injury attorneys in Louisville to review your case and provide you with more information. With the expertise of Aguiar Injury Lawyers, Louisville boaters can get the support they need to properly handle boating accident claims, slip and fall accident claims, vehicle accident claims, and more.